University of North Texas

College of Visual Arts and Design

UNT CVAD - Images
  • CVAD Alum Carl Finch heads the two-time Grammy winning band, Brave Combo.

    Did you know?

  • The CVAD Art Education Doctoral Program is a nationally ranked program, #13 in North America

    Did you know?

  • One of every fifteen students at the University of North Texas is a CVAD major! 

    Did you know?

  • UNT is an institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Art and Design

    Did you know?

  • Art Education faculty members Chris Bain and Nadine Kalin served on the Editorial Review Board of the Journal of Art Education, one of the most prestigious journals in the field.

    Did you know?

  • UNT‘s MFA program ranks in the upper 25% nationally according to US News and World Report

    Did you know?

  • CVAD‘s Communication Design students won nine of fifteen Best of Show prizes in this year‘s Dallas Society of Visual Communication 4th Annual National Student Show.

    Did you know?

  • As of Fall 2008, all new CVAD MFA students will receive $1000 scholarships.

    Did you know?

  • In Spring 2008, CVAD donors sponsored over $50,000 in scholarships for undergraduate and graduate students!

    Did you know?

  • The CVAD NAEA student chapter won the 2008 Student Organization Distinguished Service award from the University

    Did you know?

  • The Department of Art Education and Art History prepares more art teachers each year than any other university in Texas.

    Did you know?

  • CVAD‘s Ph.D. program in Art Education is among the top-rated programs in the U.S.

    Did you know?

  • Recent graduates of the art history program have pursued advanced degrees at University of Texas, Tufts University, University of Rochester, City College of New York, University of Arizona, Southern Methodist University, and Texas Christian University.

    Did you know?

  • CVAD art historians were the first UNT faculty chosen to participate in UNT‘s Next Generation course redesign. This program is considered to be a national model.

    Did you know?

  • The Department of Art Education and Art History faculty includes presidents of three national and international professional societies and the 2006 Art Educator of the Year.

    Did you know?

  • CVAD offers regular opportunities to study and travel in countries such as China, England, Ireland, Russia, and Scotland.

    Did you know?

  • CVAD‘s Texas Fashion Collection includes over 15,000 fabulous dresses by designers such as Balenciaga, Dior, de la Renta, and many others.

    Did you know?

  • CVAD Art Education alum Susan Gabbard is the former president of the National Art Education Association.

    Did you know?

  • CVAD alum, sculptor, Jesús Moroles, is on the Board of the Smithsonian Institute

    Did you know?

  • “I learned a lot about the creative process for producing a complete original work.”

    - Jezzalie Gill (Drawing 1)

    Did you know?

  • CVAD‘s Texas Fashion Collection includes over 15,000 fabulous dresses by designers such as Balenciaga, Dior, de la Renta, and many others.

    Did you know?

  • CVAD Art Education alum Susan Gabbard is the former president of the National Art Education Association.

    Did you know?

  • CVAD alum, sculptor, Jesús Moroles, is on the Board of the Smithsonian Institute

    Did you know?

  • Interior Design MFA student Greta Buehrle was named one of two IDEC Foundation Graduate Scholars for 2009.

    Did you know?

UNT CVAD - Images

College Office

College of Visual Arts and Design
University of North Texas

USPS mailing address:

1155 Union Circle  #305100  Denton, TX 76203-5017

Physical Delivery address: 

1201 W. Mulberry Street,  Denton, TX, 76201

(940) 565-2216 (General Information)
(940) 565-4717 (FAX)
cvad@unt.edu

Dean: Robert Milnes Ph.D.
940-565-4003 | milnes@unt.edu | robertmilnes.com

Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs: Eric Ligon
940-565-2216 | eric.ligon@unt.edu

Associate Dean for Administrative Affairs: Jerry Austin
940-565-4001 | jerry.austin@unt.edu

CVAD Development Director: Susan Sanders | 940-565-4026 | Susan.Sanders@unt.edu

Assistant to the Dean: Elyce Franks
940-565-4003 | elyce.franks@unt.edu

Administrative Coordinator I: Gayle Cox
940-565-4001 | gayle@unt.edu

Administrative Services Officer: Mary Miller
940-565-4002 | mary.miller@unt.edu


Faculty

Art History

Mickey Abel, Ph.D. | Associate Professor and Art History Program Coordinator
   abel@unt.edu
Denise Baxter, Ph.D. | Associate Professor and Department Chair
   940-565-3986 | baxter@unt.edu
Kelly Donahue-Wallace, Ph.D. | Associate Professor and IADS Program
   Coordinator | 940-565-3529 | kwallace@unt.edu
Christina Brungardt | Lecturer | christina.brungardt@unt.edu
Kurt Rahmlow, Ph.D. | Lecturer | 940-369-7952 | kurt.rahmlow@unt.edu
Lisa N. Owen, Ph.D. | Associate Professor | 940-369-7236 | lowen@unt.edu
Nada Shabout, Ph.D. | Associate Professor and Director, Contemporary Arab
   and Muslim Cultural Studies Institute | shabout@unt.edu
Paula Lupkin, Ph.D. | Assistant Professor | paula.lupkin@unt.edu
Jennifer Way, Ph.D. | Associate Professor | 940-565-4029 | JWay@unt.edu      

Art Education

D. Jack Davis, Ph.D. | Professor and Emeritus | davis@unt.edu
Terry Barrett, Ph.D. | Professor + Graduate Program Coordinator | 940-369-7467
     terry.barrett@unt.edu
Laura Evans, Ph.D. | Assistant Professor | 940-369-5377 |  laura.evans@unt.edu
Nadine Kalin, Ph.D. | Assistant Professor + Undergraduate Program Coordinator
     kalin@unt.edu
Amy Kraehe, Ph.D. | Assistant Professor | Amelia.Kraehe@unt.edu
Adetty Perez de Miles, Ph.D. | Assistant Professor | Adetty.Perezmiles@unt.edu

Communication Design

Alex Egner |  Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Program Coordinator
   alex.egner@unt.edu
Karen Dorff | Senior Lecturer | dorff@unt.edu
Michael Gibson | Associate Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator
     gibson@unt.edu
Eric Ligon | Professor | ligon@unt.edu
Keith Owens | Associate Professor |  kowens@unt.edu
Clinton Carlson | Assistant Professor | clinton.carlson@unt.edu

Jack Sprague | Professor, Emeritus | sprague@unt.edu
David Blow | Professor, Emeritus | blow@unt.edu

Fashion Design

Li-Fen Anny Chang | Associate Professor |  chang@unt.edu
Marian O'Rourke-Kaplan | Associate Professor and Graduate Program
   Coordinator |  orourke@unt.edu
Janie Stidham, Ph.D. | Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program
   Coordinator | stidham@unt.edu
Myra Walker | Professor and Texas Fashion Collection Director | walker@unt.edu
Diana Beard | Lecturer | diana.beard@unt.edu

Interior Design

Bruce Nacke | Associate Professor | nacke@unt.edu
Cynthia Mohr | Professor and Design Department Chair | mohr@unt.edu
Johnnie Stark | Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program Coordinator
   stark@unt.edu
Jin Gyu Phillip Park, Ph.D. | Associate Professor and Graduate Program
   Coordinator | phillip.park@unt.edu
Greta Buehrle | Senior Lecturer | greta.buehrle@unt.edu

Ceramics

Jerry Austin | Associate Professor and Associate Dean | jaustin@unt.edu
Robert Milnes | Professor and Dean of the College of Visual Arts and Design
    940-565-4003 | milnes@unt.edu | robertmilnes.com
Elmer Taylor | Regents Professor | 940-565-4723 | etaylor@unt.edu
    www.taylormadepottery.com

Core

Laura Beard | Assistant Professor and Program Coordinator Design I
   laura.beard@unt.edu
Rachel Black | Senior Lecturer and Program Coordinator Drawing I
   rachel.black@unt.edu
Elaine Pawlowicz | Assistant Professor and Program Coordinator Drawing II
   940-369-8633 | pawlowicz@unt.edu | www.faultywire.com
James Thurman | Assistant Professor and Program Coordinator Design II
  
james.thurman@unt.edu

Drawing & Painting

Laura Beard | Assistant Professor | laura.beard@unt.edu
Matthew Bourbon | Associate Professor | 940-369-7208 | bourbon@unt.edu
    matthewbourbon.com
Susan Cheal | Associate Professor | 940-369-7242 | cheal@unt.edu
Vincent Falsetta | Professor and Program Coordinator | 940-565-4025
   falsetta@unt.edu
Robert Jessup | Professor | 940-369-7225 | jessup@unt.edu
   www.robertjessup.com
Annette Lawrence | Professor and Chair of Department of Studio Art
   940-565-4020 | lawrence@unt.edu | www.annettelawrence.net
Elaine Pawlowicz | Assistant Professor | 940-369-8912
   elaine.pawlowicz@unt.edu | www.faultywire.com

Fibers

Amie Adelman | Associate Professor and Program Coordinator | 940-565-4125
   amie.adelman@unt.edu | www.amieadelman.com
Lesli Robertson | Senior Lecturer | lesli.robertson@unt.edu

Metalsmithing & Jewelry

Harlan Butt | Regents Professor | 940-369-7207 | butt@unt.edu
Ana Lopez | Associate Professor and Program Coordinator | lopez@unt.edu
   www.anamlopez.com
James Thurman | Assistant Professor | james.thurman@unt.edu

New Media Art

Paula Gaetano Adi | Assistant Professor & Area Coordinator
   paula.gaetanoadi@unt.edu
David Stout | Professor iARTA Research Cluster | david.stout@unt.edu
Ruth West | Associate Professor iARTA Research Cluster | ruth.west@unt.edu

Photography

Dornith Doherty | Professor | doherty@unt.edu | www.dornithdoherty.com
Paho Mann | Associate Professor and Area Coordinator | pahomann@unt.edu
   www.pahomann.com
Pavel Romaniko | Assistant Professor | pavel.romaniko@unt.edu

Printmaking

Andrew DeCaen | Associate Professor and Program Coordinator
   940-565-4024 | andrew.decaen@unt.edu | http://andrewdecaen.com/home.html
Lari Gibbons | Associate Professor and P.R.I.N.T Press Director | 940-369-8354 | lari.gibbons@unt.edu | www.lrgibbons.net

Visit the P.R.I.N.T Press website at www.art.unt.edu/print 

Sculpture

Richard Davis | Professor | 940-565-4011 | rdavis@unt.edu
Tim DeVoe | Assistant Professor and Area Coordinator | timothy.devoe@unt.edu

Watercolor

David Collins | Adjunct | david.collins@unt.edu
Joshua West | Adjunct | joshua.west@unt.edu


Staff:

Student Services

Eric Ligon | Associate Dean of Academic and Student Affairs | 940-565-2216 |
   eric.ligon@unt.edu
Jerry Aul | Administrative Assistant III | 940-565-2216 | jerry.aul@unt.edu
Lana Gee | Administrative Assistant I | 940-565-2216 | lana.gee@unt.edu
Susanne Coffey | Academic Counselor | 940-565-2216 | scoffey@unt.edu
Mia Dallas | Academic Advisor II | 940-565-2216 | mia.dallas@unt.edu
Jennifer Grund | Academic Advisor II | 940-565-2216 | jennifer.grund@unt.edu
Nancy Kelly | Academic Counselor | 940-565-2216 | kelly@unt.edu
Debbie Shifflett | Academic Counselor | 940-565-2216 | debbie.shifflett@unt.edu

Computer Support

General IT Support Contact | 940-565-4522 | artsupport@unt.edu
Michael Baggett | IT Manager | 940-565-4522 | michael.baggett@unt.edu
Craig Berry | Network Operations Manager | 940-565-4522 | berry@unt.edu
Kenneth "Kacey" Close | Computer Lab Manager | 940-565-3725 | kacey@unt.edu

Art Education & Art History

Betsy Snethen | Administrative Coordinator I | 940-565-4777 | aeah@unt.edu

Design 

Lindsay Goodman | Administrative Coordinator I | 940-565-3621 |
   lindsay.goodman@unt.edu
Deanna Ooley | Core Design Administrative Assistant | Deanna.Ooley@unt.edu

Studio Art

Angela Vanecek | Administrative Coordinator I | 940-369-7671
   studio@unt.edu
Valerie Hancock | Ceramics Technician | 940-369-6509 | valerie.hancock@unt.edu
Tom Leininger | Photo Technician | 940-565-4727 | tom.leininger@unt.edu
Jeff McClung | Art Technician | 940-369-7237 | jeffrey.mcclung@unt.edu

NTIEVA

Nancy Walkup | Director | 940-565-3954 | nancy.walkup@unt.edu

Gallery

Victoria Estrada Berg DeCuir | Assistant Director of Exhibitions and Collections
   940-565-4005 | victoria.decuir@unt.edu
Katy Stewart | Manager of Programming | 940-565-4005 | katy.stewart@unt.edu
Tracee W. Robertson | Director | 940-369-8914 | tracee.robertson@unt.edu

Visual Resources Collection

Ann Graham | Visual Resources Curator | 940-565-4019 | graham@unt.edu

Texas Fashion Collection

Myra Walker | Professor and Texas Fashion Collection Director | 940-565-2732
   walker@unt.edu
Dawn Lamar Figueroa | Assistant Curator | 940-565-2732
   Dawn.Figueroa@unt.edu

Happening at CVAD

Featured Work

view all work

   
APRIL ’14

view all events

Announcements

view all announcements

Opportunities

view all opportunities